EMF Participants


The Participants of the Emerging Markets Forum:

  • Are drawn from the highest strata of the private and public sectors.
  • Enjoy comparable international stature and thus constitute a peer group.
  • Bring extraordinary experience and expertise to the issues being considered.
  • Are invited by name as individuals.
  • Are willing and able to use their influence to implement conclusions.
  • Are a mix of permanent participants (who ensure continuity) and participants invited to specific meetings (who bring exceptional knowledge of specific issues.)
  • Are present at all meetings during a Forum, and attend without staff.
  • Represent their personal views rather than official positions.

The Forum has attracted nearly 1,000 participants from more than 80 countries, including former and current Heads of Government, Central Bank Governors, Heads of Multilateral organizations, CEOs, Heads of Think Tanks, and other high-profile leaders.

Heads of Government:

Fakhruddin Ahmed, Former Prime Minister of Bangladesh
Shaukat Aziz. Former Prime Minister of Pakistan
Kim Campbell. Former Prime Minister of Canada
Joaquim Chissano, Former President of Mozambique
Joseph Deiss. Former President of the Swiss Confederation
Nguyen Tan Dzung. Prime Minister of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam
Vicente Fox, Former President of Mexico
Alfred Gusenbauer. Former Chancellor of Austria
Osvaldo Hurtado, Former President of Ecuador
Horst Koehler, Former President of the Federal Republic of Germany
Aleksander Kwasniewski, Former Prime Minister of Canada
Paul Martin. Former Prime Minister of Canada
Carlos Mesa, Former President of the Republic of Bolivia
Benjamin William Mkapa, Former President of Tanzania
Raila Odinga, Former Prime Minister of Kenya
Ehud Olmert, Former Prime Minister of Israel
Alassane Ouattara, President of Côte d’Ivoire
Nursultan Nazarbayev. President of Kazakhstan
Romano Prodi, Former Prime Minister of Italy
Jorge Quiroga, Former President of the Republic of Bolivia
Moeen Qureshi, Former Prime Minister of Pakistan
Fidel V. Ramos, Former President of the Republic of Philippines
Martin Torrijos, Former President of Panama
Alvaro Uribe, Former President of Colombia
Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, President of Indonesia
Tertius Zongo, Former Prime Minister of Burkina Faso

Heads of Multilateral Institutions:

Jaseem Ahmed, Secretary General, Islamic Financial Services Board
Alicia Barcena, Secretary General, UN Economic Commission for Latin America
and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
Michel Camdessus, Former Managing Director, International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Enrique Garcia, President, Corporación Andina de Fomento (CAF)
Enrique V. Iglesias, Former President, Inter-American Development Bank (IADB)
Abdoulie Janneh. Former Secretary General, Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
Omar Kabbaj. Former President, African Development Bank (AfDB)
Jean-Claude Dro Kesse, President, African Parliament of Civil Society
Horst Koehler, Former Managing Director, International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Takehiko Nakao, President, Asian Development Bank (ADB)
Haruhiko Kuroda, Former President, Asian Development Bank (ADB)
Luis Alberto Moreno. President, Inter-American Development Bank (IADB)
Babacar Ndiaye, Former President, African Development Bank (AfDB)
Yoichi Nemoto. Director, ASEAN+3 Macroeconomic Research Office (AMRO)
Surin Pitsuwan, Secretary General, ASEAN
Hiroshi Watanabe, President and CEO, Japan Bank for International Cooperation

Central Bank Governors/Deputies from:

Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Botswana, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, France, Georgia, Ghana, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Pakistan, Peru, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vietnam, and Zambia.

Ministers/Deputies from:

Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Mali, Mauritania, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Pakistan, Philippines, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay, and Vietnam.